PDA

View Full Version : Boots?

Chief
09-21-2008, 09:09 PM
After this last 9/20 out at Harwood I've decided that it's time to get some actual combat boots as opposed to the hiking boots I've been wearing. Also I was wondering if theres anything I should know before I make this decision, or if there's any basics about buying boots I should know. I will be buying them from banana bay that might help narrow it down. Any advice helps! I don't want to make a newbie mistake and buy boots that aren't adequate or don't have a long life. Price range isn't much of an issue so long as what I'm buying will last me a long time. THANKS!!!

AustinWolv
09-21-2008, 10:18 PM
I have limited boot experience, but there is a point to the following:
Started with issue boots. Good protection and longevity, but lacking comfort. My joints would be sore.

Moved on to Wellcos. Very comfortable and light, but actually ended up wearing through the thinner material areas. They felt like tennis shoes and eased the joint soreness after a long day, but the soles were even chunking out a bit since they were very soft.

Moved into a pair of Danners and haven't changed boots since. Comfortable and very durable; I've been using them for several years now with no sort of care in maintaining them.

Being that it is Texas, about the only thing I would change about the Danners is to look into one of their hot weather offerings, as they might be a bit lighter and cooler than the regular ones I use. Bates would likely be another option I would look into if I was in the market.

Dismount210
09-21-2008, 10:26 PM
Ive been using these fellas since i got back from Ft Polk in july and i have been nothing but happy with them.

http://www.rangerjoes.com/images/A1811.jpg

my back problems have been limited since I have been using them. So far, so good with these puppies.

Bear
09-21-2008, 10:29 PM
I like my Bates M9s.

otang
09-22-2008, 12:07 AM
http://oakley.com/pd/3552