PDA

View Full Version : CA M15 400fps upgrade question(s)

shakman
03-15-2005, 11:38 AM
I'm considering upgrading my stock CA M15 to ~400fps.

I know that it's possible to increase the muzzle energy by just replacing the spring, but is that the recommended way to go? What parts do y'all recommend (other than what's already posted in the forums)?

Would the best way to upgrade this AEG be to crack open the mechbox and replace/upgrade internals, or just swap out the spring? Being this is my first time doing an upgrade, is it recommended that I have it done professionally or do it myself?

I want to make sure I do this the right way, so any and all suggestions are appreciated!

Thanx,
Hial

AustinWolv
03-15-2005, 11:49 AM
EEG AEG. ;)

I know that it's possible to increase the muzzle energy by just replacing the spring, but is that the recommended way to go? Yes, for the M15 since it is supposed to have metal bushings already.

What parts do y'all recommend (other than what's already posted in the forums)? How old is your M15? After working on a new one this past weekend, my gut feeling was to replace the piston and pistonhead. However, that was merely based on my impressions of those parts. Thus, you *really* only need to change out the spring, while ensuring your M15 indeed has metal bushings. I would recommend changing out the hopup bucking to a Guarder one if you can. The CA one feels and looks like they chopped up an old tire and stuffed it in there. Their hop packing wasn't even sized well.