PDA

View Full Version : BSA Red-dot sights and MZ Holosights

id0l
11-18-2004, 02:13 AM
I'm having trouble deciding between a nice red-dot. I like the looks of holographic sights, and the functionality. But I also like a few of the standard-looking red-dots. For example, a red-dot sight I am interested in is the BSA 50mm RD50SB (http://www.bsaoptics.com/productdetail.asp?ID=519&Prod_Code=RD50SB), which I have found online for a mere $88 (compared to the $130 retail). On the other hand, I also like the Mojji Zero (http://www.wgcshop.com/pcart/shopper.php?itm=ZERO-SC-RDS_cat_Reddot%20Scopes) (~$120) holographic sight.

I'm at a loss here because I have no experience with either type of sight. Maybe an experienced player(s) can give me some feedback about the pros and cons of each one (either specifically those models, or the sights in general).

Basically, I was looking at holosights first, because I liked the advantage of having an "open" sight, possibly because you could view more things in front of you (no "tube" blocking your vision). But after finding a 50mm aperture red-dot in a compact form, I'm not sure I would really need one.

Another thing. I am going to be mounting the sight on an MP5. Now, if I got the low-profile scope mount (http://www.airsplat.com/Items/AC-MNT-CA-A079M.htm), would the iron sights be shown through the red-dot? I don't really like the looks of the high-mounts, but if it's necassary to use those for unobstructed vision, I suppose I could.

Thanks for any help!

AustinWolv
11-18-2004, 02:54 AM
As for that BSA, you can find it cheaper. For example, http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/ctd/product.asp?dept%5Fid=180605&sku=22384&imgid=&mscssid=EFVD7FHN59QJ8G1U8A9SF9K22C631D49

Another source would be Ebay. For Airsoft, the BSA line is a good choice, seeing as they are fairly well-built. They also have a warranty, something that most of the Airsoft knock-offs won't have.