PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading internals!

id0l
09-30-2004, 11:14 PM
Okay so tommorow night I am going to be taking out my gearbox for the first time (I have an AUG). I am upgrading the cylinder, cylinder head, piston, piston head, spring, spring guide, and nozzle. I shouldn't even have to touch the gears or anything like that. I have watched (and saved) the gearbox takedown videos, which I am using as a sort of guide (I'm a learning noob). My question is, out of the parts I'm replacing, which of these need to be oiled with silicone oil and which need to be greased (with what kind of grease)? Arsenic told me to oil the o-ring on either the piston head or cylinder head, but I can't remember which. Does the cylinder itself need to be oiled on the inside?

AustinWolv
09-30-2004, 11:37 PM
Opinions differ on this.

First, read this: http://www.austinairsoft.com/modules.php?name=FAQ&myfaq=yes&id_cat=12#56

My opinion:
Lube gel (or a heavy silicone oil, like 80-90W RC shock oil....a thinner silicone oil will disperse too easily) - O-ring on piston head; o-ring on cylinder head; rails of piston; inside of piston; spring guide (if it has the bearing); cylinder head shaft that the nozzle rides on; teeth on piston/sector gear; don't need to lube the inside of the cylinder since the o-ring on the piston head will do that.
White lithium grease - gears, anti-reversal latch

Obsidian
10-01-2004, 09:39 AM
Look at it this way.....the lube is there to cause parts to seal and prevent air leak. It is also used to reduce friction so that the parts will move across each other and not bind. Use it where you would prefer the parts to seal....cylinder, nozzle, cylinder head, piston head. Also use it on the parts you want to move, Piston, tappet, gears. I use this stuff called lube gel that you can get from radioshack. I use it for everything and it has not failed me in the 100+ guns I have torn apart.

id0l
10-01-2004, 02:21 PM