PDA

View Full Version : Battery question

cclark1985
07-03-2003, 05:27 PM
If you plug a battery into a battery, will the lesser-charged one be charged? Or will this just destroy the batterys?

AustinWolv
07-03-2003, 06:13 PM
Hehe, that's an interesting question.....and I'm somewhat afraid as to why you want to do that with AEG battery packs. ;)

I'm no electrical expert, but I think it would be ok as long as you have the polarities matched. The battery that has the greater charge will transfer some of that charge over to the "dead" battery, until they both have the same charge.

I could be dead wrong here, but I imagine it is much like when you connect up a dead car battery to a known good car battery. If you wait a few minutes with both cars not running, the car with the dead battery will acquire a little bit of charge. Perhaps not enough to start the dead car, but some.

Heh, ask cmattp on these boards....he works at BatteriesPlus and knows more about electronics than I do probably. :)

cclark1985
07-03-2003, 06:15 PM
:) alright

I just thought I'd ask, because I was curious, heh.

Kyle
07-04-2003, 01:52 AM
As long as we're on the topic of weird battery tricks; on onlybatterypacks.com the have a special tamiya connector that works as a "splitter" to charge two batteries at once. Couldn't you just use it to run two batteries at once. I know, "Why would you wanna do that?" but hey, its interesting.;)

AustinWolv
07-04-2003, 09:23 AM
I personally have not seen that product, but something doesn't seem safe about using a good, quality charger and trying to charge two packs at the same time. Why? Because the charger circuitry is trying to monitor a battery pack as it charges, so it "knows" when to stop charging. How does it measure two packs? Perhaps an electrical guy can answer that, but I cannot. :)